> ADTO News > What other advantages can you get from the ringlock scaffolding

Why Ladder Ratings is Important?


We should pay more importance to duty ratings when we buy ladders. Ladder grades assign maximum weight capacities for each ladder.


These weight counts encompass all of the following:


A worker's weight

The weight of worker's clothing or protective equipment

The weight of tools or supplies that are carried or stored on the ladder


There are five ladder grade categories recommended by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) :


Type III (Light Duty): This grade holds up to 200 pounds. Type III is a common ladder for home use on projects with painting, reaching tall items, climbing to a roof and more.


Type II (Medium Duty): This grade holds up to 225 pounds. This type includes ladders used in construction and other commercial contract work.


Type I (Heavy Duty): This grade holds up to 250 pounds. Type I is often used for industrial applications that require heavy equipment or gear.


Type IA (Extra Heavy Duty): This grade holds up to 300 pounds. This type supports industrial applications with extra heavy equipment or gear.


Type IAA (Extra Heavy Duty): This grade holds up to 375 pounds. It supports special jobs with extremely heavy equipment or gear.


Observing duty ratings when choosing ladders is a crucial step to keeping you safe on the job. Whether you are completing a DIY building project at home or working on industrial machinery, choosing the ladder with proper ladder grades will help you remain safe.

Related News